Is retrace instant speed? Retrace is a keyword ability that allows the player to cast the card from their graveyard for its mana cost plus the additional cost of discarding a land. All spells with the ability Retrace are instants or sorceries; the one permanent is a planeswalker that grants Retrace to instants or sorceries via an emblem.
Is Flashback an additional cost?
You still have to pay additional costs for instants and sorceries that have been granted flashback. If you cast Snapcaster Mage and give flashback to a Shrapnel Blast in your graveyard, you have to sacrifice an artifact in addition to paying the flashback cost.
Does madness happen at instant speed?
Madness also appeared in Commander 2019 and Modern Horizons 2. Torment's madness cards inspired a deck known as "Wild Mongrel", or "UG Madness", which, using the signature card Wild Mongrel, enabled instant-speed discard, allowing cards with Madness to be played at instant-speed.
Is Flashback an activated ability MTG?
Flashback is a static ability that creates an alternate casting cost and allows you to cast the spell from an unusual zone (the graveyard). It will not be stopped by Phyrexian Revoker. Triggered abilities begin with 'When', 'Whenever' or 'At'. Everything else is a static ability.
Is cycling an instant?
Cycling can be used at instant speed. Abilities can be used at instant speed by default, and sorcery timing restrictions have to be printed on the card or be in the rules/reminder text for that permanent's abilities.
Related guide for Is Retrace Instant Speed?
Does retrace trigger Tormod?
this Tormod dude is CRAZY. goes well with every graveyard deck ever. will trigger from Bloodghast, Prized Amalgam, Vengevine, Gravecrawler, anything with Dredge, anything with Flashback, anything with Escape, anything with Retrace.
Does flashback count as casting?
Flashback is just an extra permission to cast the spell, it doesn't change the normal timing required to cast the spell it's on. So, if it's a sorcery, you can cast it when you'd normally be able to cast a sorcery and, if it's an instant you can cast it when you'd normally be able to cast an instant.
Can flashback costs be reduced?
Yes, the cost to cast a spell via flashback would be reduced; flashback is an alternative cost that you would pay to cast the spell from your graveyard. 2. How does it interact with X spells?
What happens if you counter a flashback spell?
Countering a spell normally sends it to the graveyard (or, in some cases, exile, its owner's hand, or their library), but the flashback ability makes it go to exile instead.
Can you outlast a creature with summoning sickness?
No, the Outlast ability has Tapping as part of the cost so it is indeed effected by summoning sickness.
Can you cast sorcery at instant speed madness?
Yes, it does. It replaces the act of discarding the card to removing it from the game and allowing you to cast it for the madness cost. If it didn't let you cast it at "instant speed" you would never be able to cast it because it tells you to cast the card in the middle of the Madness trigger.
What counts as discarding in magic?
Discard is an evergreen keyword action which takes cards from a player's hand and puts them in their graveyard.
Can you counter flashback MTG?
When a card is cast via its flashback cost, anytime it would leave the stack it is exiled as opposed to going to a graveyard. This happens if it resolves, if it is countered or leaves the stack in any way.
How does embalm work MTG?
“Embalm [cost]” means “[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Create a token that's a copy of this card, except it's white, it has no mana cost, and it's a Zombie in addition to its other types. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
How does rebound work?
Rebound is technically a static ability that generates a replacement effect when the card is a spell on the stack. As long as the Rebound spell was cast from your hand this replacement effect exiles the card instead of putting it in your graveyard when it resolves and generates a delayed triggered ability .
Can I cycle on opponents turn?
No. You can cycle a card any time you have priority, no matter what the card's type. Cycling is an activated ability and activated abilities will always specify in their text if they have any timing restrictions.
Is cycling a discard?
[type]cycling [cost] (Discard this card: Search your library for a [type] card, reveal it, and put it into your hand. Then shuffle your library.) Cycling is a keyword ability that allows a player to pay a cost that includes discarding the card. When the activated ability resolves, that player draws a card.
Can you use abilities at instant speed?
 : unless that resolving spell or ability specifically gives you permission to cast a spell or activate an ability. You can do it at any time. at instant speed when you have priority.
Does Tormod the Desecrator?
2020-11-10: You create one Zombie token each time Tormod, the Desecrator's ability resolves, no matter how many cards left your graveyard.
Do tokens dying trigger Tormod?
Since tokens are not cards, they have no interaction with Tormod as he only triggers when cards leave your graveyard. If a token leaves the battlefield it just cease to exist and are gone.
Is replicate an activated ability?
Replicate is a triggered ability that triggers when you cast the spell, so you only get to replicate once (when you cast the original spell).
How does madness work in MTG?
Madness works no matter when or why you're discarding the card. After that, playing a card with madness is just like playing an instant from your hand, except you pay the spell's madness cost instead of its mana cost. It goes on the stack like any other spell and it can be countered like any other spell.
Can you flashback adventure cards?
You cannot use Snapcaster Mage / Jace, Telepath Unbound / Past in Flames / Torrential Gearhulk type effects to give your adventure flashback from the graveyard since cards with adventure are only seen as creatures in any zone except the stack.
What is Flashback MTG?
Flashback is a graveyard mechanic that you'll find on instant and sorcery cards. When a spell with flashback is in your graveyard, you may cast it from there by paying its flashback cost. Casting a card with flashback uses the same timing rules you would normally use for that card.
Does Baral affect flashback?
Does Baral, Chief of Compliance affect the cost of flashback? Yes. Flashback is an alternative cost, and cost reductions apply to those as well.
Does Baral reduce buyback?
In other words does the cost reduction also reduce the buyback as well as the spell or just the spell itself? Baral reduces the total cost. So, you add everything up and then subtract Baral's cost reduction.
Does Baral reduce overload cost?
Yes. That means that cost reductions are applied towards the total of the mana or alternative cost, additional costs and cost increases. 601.2f The player determines the total cost of the spell.
What is delve MTG?
Delve is an keyword ability, introduced in Future Sight. Delve is a static ability that functions while the spell with delve is on the stack. “Delve” means “For each generic mana in this spell's total cost, you may exile a card from your graveyard rather than pay that mana.”
How does Narset's reversal work?
Narset's Reversal and the copy resolve before the original spell would have resolved. 2019-05-03: If a spell is returned to its owner's hand, it's removed from the stack and thus will not resolve. The spell isn't countered; it just no longer exists. This works against a spell that can't be countered.
What is bushido in magic?
Bushido is a triggered keyword ability that makes creatures bigger if they block or are blocked.
Can you outlast more than once?
The other is, "How many times can I use Outlast per turn?", the answer to which is, "As many times as you can pay the cost", which is probably once per creature per turn, assuming you don't have a way to untap between casts.
Does madness follow timing restrictions?
Madness gives you the ability to cast it ignoring normal timing restrictions.
Does milling count as discarding?
No, milling means putting cards directly from their library into the graveyard. Indeed. OP, this means that not only does mill not count as drawing, it doesn't count as discarding either.
How does jumpstart work MTG?
To play a game of Jumpstart, players simply open two boosters and shuffle them together to form a ready-to-play deck. The set contains almost 500 reprints but also introduced 37 new cards that were designed to help fill out some of the themes.