How do you destroy an indestructible creature in Magic The Gathering? Perhaps the most popular way to get rid of an Indestructible creature is through getting rid of that indestructibility. Cards like Hour of Devastation have effects that simply take indestructibility off of cards, making them vulnerable to any traditional kill or damage spells you have.
Can an indestructible creature be killed by counters?
Yes, indestructible creatures can be killed by reducing their toughness to 0 or less. As a sidenote, Tragic Slip does not give counters (but still it works).
What kills an indestructible creature?
A creature with indestructible can die as a result of anything that is not damage (Lightning Bolt) and does not explicitly use the word 'destroy' (Doom Blade). And of course, they can be exiled, returned to their owner's hand, or put back into their owner's library.
Does indestructible prevent minus counters?
Regeneration can't replace this event. There is nothing "magical" about -1/-1 counters that removes indestructibility, it is just that if the counters reduces the creature's toughness to 0 or less, the creature gets put into owners graveyard. Indestructible creatures can't be destroyed, but this isn't destruction.
What stops indestructible MTG?
Indestructible cards can be exiled by cards like Banishing Light, which does not destroy them but removes them from the battlefield. Players can also reduce an Indestructible card's toughness to zero, causing the player to put the card into their graveyard immediately, since this isn't technically dealing damage.
Related guide for How Do You Destroy An Indestructible Creature In Magic The Gathering?
Does Destroy target creature kill indestructible?
Indestructible permanents cannot be destroyed. Any effect that says "destroy" will not destroy them. Lethal damage (that is, damage marked on them equal to or greater than their toughness) is an effect that destroys, as per the game rules.
What does indestructible in magic mean?
Indestructible, a static ability, is defined in the rules as a permanent that “can't be destroyed.” Those permanents “aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage.”
How do you get rid of Hexproof creatures?
(Like Celestial Flare) The key thing is that hexproof specifically prevents only targeting that creature. If it doesn't say "target creature" (Or "target permanent" or whatever) then it'll work. Also you can counter it with something like Essence Scatter or force a discard with something like Distress.
Does wrath of God work on indestructible?
Indestructible creatures survive a Wrath because their ability ("cannot be destroyed") specifically interacts with the word "destroy" on the card Wrath of God.
Can flying block ground MTG?
If a creature has flying, it can't be blocked except by other creatures with flying or a separate keyword called reach (we'll get to that in a moment). Your flying creature will soar into battle, and your opponents' creatures on the ground will just have to sit and watch.
Does scorching Dragonfire kill indestructible?
Reduce to Ashes can exile an indestructible creature, but it can't kill such a creature. You are correct in that Reduce to Ashes can't kill an indestructible creature.
Does Hexproof protect against sacrifice?
Are hexproof creatures protected against "your opponent sacrifices a creature" cards? No. Hexproof states that the creature cannot be targeted by spells or abilities that your opponent controls. If the spell or ability causing them to sacrifice targets the player and not the creature, it can still be sacrificed.
Does Deathtouch kill Hexproof?
No it doesn't. Deathtouch on a creature just means that if that creature deals damage to another creature, be it combat or non-combat, that the creature dealt damage will be destroyed. The deathtouch ability doesn't target anything so hexproof will not save a creature dealt damage with deathtouch.
Is a sacrificed creature destroyed?
Sacrificing a permanent doesn't destroy it, so regeneration or other effects that replace destruction can't affect this action. Sometimes-relevant corner cases: Tokens disappear when they leave the battlefield, but they still count as going to the graveyard, so you do get Captain triggers.